How to: Make the Most Amazing Shoes of Your Life

What girl doesn’t love a little sparkle?

Last year before my bachelorette party in Las Vegas, I decided I needed new shoes. Not just any shoes…. they needed to be amazing. I searched and searched for the perfect pair and was disappointed by my options. I didn’t want to spend a ton of money because I was saving every last penny for my wedding– so I decided on this little DIY project.

Okay, this was not as “little” as I thought it was… It took me HOURS…. I worked on them for months before they were finally finished.

Here is what I did– I found a pair of plain silver peep toe Steve Madden pumps at Nordstrom Rack and decided to glam them up.  I would come home after work and add a few more gems, one at a time. I tried super glue…that didn’t work. I tried fabric glue…and that didn’t work. So, I pulled out my handy hot glue gun and got busy.

All you need:

– hot glue gun

– about a million tiny clear rhinestones (I bought mine on Etsy for a steal!)

– tweezers (that you don’t mind ruining)

– silver or white pumps (peep toe preferred)

– newspapers or plastic to cover your table

– patience and lots of time!

All you do:

1- Squirt a tiny line of hot glue directly onto your shoe

2- Quickly use your tweezers to pick up and attach your rhinestones one by one until you cover the glue

3- Repeat steps one and two! It’s that easy!

Hot glue probably wasn’t the best choice I could have made, because you could see a little bit of the glue poking out around the gems but it did the trick. If you find a better option, please let me know!

Up close the shoes weren’t perfect, but from afar they ROCKED. I got so many compliments on these shoes at my bachelorette party that I wore them three weeks later at my friend’s bachelorette party in Vegas with a different dress. They don’t exactly work for going out in any old city– but they fit in perfectly in Vegas! They quickly became my favorite pair of shoes I’ve ever owned and I always look forward to the opportunity to wear them again.  I decided to blog about them today because they’re coming back out of the closet this month! They will be sparkling on the strip in Vegas in T- 25 days. I can’t wait!

4 thoughts on “How to: Make the Most Amazing Shoes of Your Life

  1. Pingback: DIY Kick-A** Bride Cup | Artistry by Adele

Leave a Reply

