I Heart Travel, Part VI – Oktoberfest in Germany

I have only been to Germany once (if you don’t include the airport layovers) and I was pretty consumed with Oktoberfest so  I didn’t see much else when I was there. I’m not complaining because it was one of the most entertaining/fun times of my life. We woke up early, went straight to the beer tents, ordered giant beers, and sat at huge picnic tables all day. We met people from all over the world who were there for the same reason we were…to drink beer and have a good time. I have no idea how I was able to finish more than one of those beers back then, because I’m pretty sure I’d be asleep in 10 minutes if I drank two of those now!

Actually, that is kind of a lie. I actually DID fall asleep pretty quickly after having a few of these giant beers. Here’s what happened – we sat down with some tough looking Italian guys and all ordered our drinks. When I was over half way finished with my beer, I looked around and noticed I could almost finish mine before everyone at my table. So, I made that my mission. I finished my beer, slammed it down on the table and said- “Ha! Finito!” I was so proud. Until one of my American friends said “Prima Finito, Prima Dormito,” which in rough translation means, “first to finish, first to sleep.” Everyone laughed (at my expense) and then shortly after I went back to the hotel for a nap. Moral of that story? Don’t try to act tough when deep down you know you’re not.

Here are some photos of the little I saw of Germany.

One thought on “I Heart Travel, Part VI – Oktoberfest in Germany

Leave a Reply

