How to: Make Delicious Chicken Tortilla Soup

I work a 9-5 Monday through Friday and eat lunch out way too often. When I don’t bring my own lunch I end up spending too much money on unhealthy food and regretting it later. So, this weekend I decided to make an easy meal that I could take to work for a few days during the week. I wanted something easy that I could just throw together in my slow cooker, but I wanted it to be healthy as well. So I pulled out my old slow cooker recipe book and found this one. Tortilla Soup! Notice my handy-dandy cookbook stand? This was a wedding gift that I absolutely love. You can still find it at Crate and Barrel.

Here is what you will need:

4 boneless skinless chicken thighs (I use organic)

4 large fresh tomatoes, diced

1 yellow onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 can green chilies

1 cup chicken broth (I use organic)

4 Thai chillies finely chopped (use one-two jalapenos if you have them)

1 Avocado, sliced

2 tablespoons fresh cilantro

4 corn tortillas, sliced into ¼ inch strips

1 teaspoon cumin

Salt and pepper to taste

*The recipe in the book called for canned tomatoes, but I really prefer fresh ingredients. Everything listed above I either picked from my garden, or bought from my local farmer’s market.

Place the chicken in the slow cooker. Mix broth, cumin, onions, garlic, chillies, salt, pepper, and tomatoes in a large bowl. Pour over chicken and cook on high for 3 hours (or slow for 6 hours). Take chicken out once cooked all the way through and shred into pieces. Return shredded chicken to slow cooker. Before serving add sliced tortillas and cilantro and stir. Serve with sliced avocado and garnish with fresh cilantro. This recipe was so easy and delicious! And very easy to transport to work. Enjoy!

Mixture of tomatoes, onions, garlic, and chillies

Gotta go organic!

All the ingredients in the slow cooker. The chicken is underneath.

These are the thai chillies I used because our jalapeno plant didn't make it this year.

Topped with sliced avocado and fresh cilantro

The finished product.

4 thoughts on “How to: Make Delicious Chicken Tortilla Soup

Leave a Reply

