Bru-ske-tta

If you read my  Tomatoes Tomatoes Tomatoes post…you know that I have a garden full of tomatoes and in the summer, I eat them just about everyday.

I am always trying to think of new ways recipes and ways to eat them. This one is definitely not new, but I think I have perfected it over the years. I love this recipe because it is so simple. You only use fresh, light ingredients, most of which I can find in my backyard, it’s quick, and so tasty! I learned how to make bruschetta (pronounced bru-ske-tta, not bru-she-tta like most people say here) when I was living in Northern Italy. I had always loved bruschetta at home and thought it would be fairly similar.

When I sat down in my cooking class, which was held in a little Italian woman’s living room, I was surprised by the way she taught us how to make this old favorite. She baked the bread until it was lightly toasted, just like at home. Then she peeled a clove of garlic and cut it in half. She did the same with a large tomato. Next she rubbed the garlic on the bread and then the tomato, she poured a little olive oil, sprinkled a little salt, added a fresh piece of basil  and said “va bene.”

I looked at her confused. Where where the chopped up tomatoes? Where was the balsamic vinegar? I was skeptical of this thing she called bruschetta..but of course, it was delicious. It was so flavorful despite the fact that there was nothing actually on it. This was her speedy version of bruschetta and I thought it was genius. I now use this recipe when I am tired and don’t feel like doing much cooking or prep work, or I’m just in a hurry to make a good party appetizer. Although I love this fast, easy, Italian version of bruschetta, I still don’t think you can compare it to having fresh tomatoes and basil spill over your toasted bread as you take a bite. So here is my version of bruschetta. I make it “speedy” by recruiting my husband to do most of the chopping.

Here is what you’ll need:

Tomatoes of course!(diced)I like to mix up the variety here. Yellow pear tomatoes and red cherry tomatoes are my favorite. I like to add an heirloom in the mix if I have one.

Green onions – I like to use green because they are more mild than regular onions, thinly chopped

Fresh Basil (the key here is FRESH), torn apart

One sourdough baguette, sliced

Balsamic Vinegar

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Slice bread into small pieces. Place on baking sheet and brush with Olive Oil. Broil for 3-5 minutes until bread is crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. Place diced tomatoes, onion, and basil in a bowl. Mix together with a little salt and pepper.

Tomatoes mixed with onions and basil

Spoon tomato mixture on top of bread slices. Drizzle olive oil and balsamic vinegar over the bread.

Sprinkle with salt and pepper and enjoy! I promise you’ll love this!

Va Bene!

9 thoughts on “Bru-ske-tta

  1. Pingback: Fancy Schmancy | Artistry by Adele

  2. Pingback: Modified Bruschetta | Artistry by Adele

Leave a Reply

