1/2 Marathon Update 2- It’s Getting Close!

I am slowly working my way toward those 13.1 miles and when I say slowly I mean slowwwwlllly. I just hit 8 miles for the first time last weekend and I plan to do 8-9 this weekend. And I am still asking the question, when does this get easy? I ran 3 miles this morning and although it wasn’t excruciating, it was still hard! The first two miles are always the hardest for me and it usually gets easier around mile 3 or 4. But the important thing I need to keep telling myself is that I’m actually doing it. Never in my life did I think I would be able to survive an 8 mile run. And I wasn’t even sore the next day! I’m not going to sugar coat it, those 8 miles weren’t easy, but I felt amazing once I finished..just like I hope I feel after I cross that half-marathon finish line!

I am very late in posting this month’s training schedule, but here it is! In case you don’t remember from last time, x-train means cross train (work out by doing other activities, bike, swim, weight train, etc.).

I just bought a new armband for my iphone so I can listen to music while I run and never be without my phone.  Even though I always run with a partner, I hate the idea of running long distances without my phone in case of emergency. I picked this one up at target for $20. It was one of the only ones I could find that would tighten enough to fit my ridiculously small arm.

After my Four Bridges Half-Marathon in October, I plan on running the Run to Feed the Hungry 10k. I have done the fun Thanksgiving Day run many times, but always did the 5k and had to run/walk it.  I’m looking forward to running the whole 10k with all those people this year! It is always such a fun race and benefits such a great cause!

This is where I would prefer to run everyday. Where is your favorite place to run?

4 thoughts on “1/2 Marathon Update 2- It’s Getting Close!

  1. You’ll do great. Running never really gets easier. Some days you definitely feel stronger than others but it’s always a challenge. Great benefits for your mind, body and spirit. You’re doing fantastic. You ran 8 miles last weekend! That is an amazing accomplishment. I’m proud of you. Don’t forget: stretch and hydrate!

  2. The beach would be my favorite place to run, too. Unfortunately, I’m no where near a beach.

    Well done on your 8 miles! I hope to be able to do that someday too. :)

  3. Pingback: How I Got to 13.1 Miles | Artistry by Adele

Leave a Reply

