Modified Bruschetta

If you don’t remember from my older post, Bru-ske-tta, I love Bruschetta and I try to make it all different ways. In Italy, all I did was rub tomatoes and garlic on a piece of toasted bread and add olive oil and basil. Sometimes I use sautéed onions and mushrooms, and sometimes I do it like this..

I started with fresh tomatoes, fresh basil, and fresh green onions from the yard.

Next I thinly sliced the tomatoes and onions and tore apart the basil. I always tear basil, and never cut it with a knife.

Next I poured some olive oil on my sliced baguette, and placed the basil down first, followed by the tomato and the green onion on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

I drizzled a little olive oil over the top and popped them in the oven!

And this is how they turned out– toasted and delicious!

It is the end of tomato season for us in Northern California and I am sad to see them go. This is the last fresh tomato dish I will be making for a while, so I had to savor it!

4 thoughts on “Modified Bruschetta

  1. nice little touch to the brushetta! i just made some this past weekend and this is great to know for the future!!!!!

  2. Oh, well this looks delicious! Well, at least you can still buy tomatoes. Here in Russia, during the winter time they sell very few, imported tomatoes that are three times the price, extremely hard, and not good at all. So instead everyone salts their tomatoes and cucumbers in the fall, and enjoys them in the winter time. Of course, they are NOTHING like the fresh ones, but it’s something different for your taste buds.

    http://indiraadams.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

