Pumpkin Smoothie ‘Soup’

I recently stocked up on a few cans of pumpkin and am going to try to use it up in as many ways as I can think up. Last night I wasn’t hungry for a big dinner, so I decided to make a pumpkin smoothie. I wanted to add a few toppings to the smoothie to give it a little crunch, so I served it in a small bowl and ate it with a spoon, just like it was soup. It was delicious!

Here is what you will need:

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

1 whole banana

1 cup ice

1 cup (or more, depending on the consistency you like) soy milk, almond milk, or regular milk!

1/4 raw oats(not necessary, but I like the texture it gives the smoothie)

1/4 cup non-fat vanilla yogurt (I used plain and I think vanilla would have been better)

2 tbsp. brown sugar

Toppings-

2 tbsp. flax-seed

handful of granola of your choice (I used a chocolate hazelnut granola and it went so well with the pumpkin!)

Directions:

Put all ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth.

Pour into a bowl and top each serving with 1 tbsp. flax-seed, a pinch of cinnamon, and a little granola.

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Smoothie ‘Soup’

  1. OK – this looks (and probably tastes) WAY better than the flavor-challenged pumpkin protein pudding I tried to make a few weeks ago. Forget the pudding – bring on the pumpkin smoothie soup! Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

