Butter Bean, Sun-dried Tomato and Pesto Soup

I have been sick with a nasty cold for over a week now and all I have been wanting to eat is delicious, warm soup. This past weekend I made two soups and this one was the easiest and the most tasty. I have had this cook book for a few years now and never made anything from it until this soup. Everything in the book only requires 3-4 ingredients. How easy is that?

All you need is 4 cups chicken broth, 4 tbsp. sun-dried tomato paste, 4 tbsp. pesto, and 2 cans white lima beans (or butter beans). I also added some sautéed onions to the soup because I already had them on hand from the other soup I was making.

First you add the butter beans to the broth in a large pot and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and slowly ladle the beans and broth mixture into a food processor. Mix until creamy and transfer back into the pot. Then blend the sun-dried tomatoes into a paste in the food processor (or blender). Add that to the bean and broth mixture along with the pesto and onions.

Let simmer for 15 minutes and serve. I added a little cayenne pepper to the mix and topped the soup off with a little Tapatio because I like everything a little spicy. This soup was hearty and delicious and was so easy and fast to make. I think this will be a recipe I make every winter!

2 thoughts on “Butter Bean, Sun-dried Tomato and Pesto Soup

Leave a Reply

