Run to Feed the Hungry

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving (obviously) and I have been looking forward to this day for a few months now. Partly because of time with family and , but also because it is the annual Run to Feed the Hungry in my hometown. I have done this run every year that I have been in town since 2004 (which has only been 3 or 4 years) and I always used to struggle just to run the whole 5k. I always ended up run/walking it, but regardless, it was always a great time and raised money for a great cause. They expect 27,000 participants this year. It really is an amazing event.

This year I have been so excited because I knew running the 5k would be a piece of cake (or a piece of pumpkin pie I should say) and running the 10k wouldn’t be so bad either since I recently ran 13.1 miles straight.

Today I picked up my race packet and my super sweet dry-fit shirt to get ready for the run tomorrow. The only problem…I’ve been sick for 10 days with no end in sight. I feel fine except for a horrible cough that won’t go away and I am starting to think the 10k isn’t in the cards for me. This is so disappointing because I’ve been looking forward to this run as a personal goal. Every year that I have done this race in the past I have looked at all the people running the 6.2 miles and thought, “Wow. That’s impressive.” I have always been so exhausted after the 3 mile run that I could never even imagine how people were STILL running when I was done with my 5k. How are these people STILL going when I am exhausted and huffing and puffing? After completing a 1/2 marathon and finally thinking of myself as a runner I was so looking forward to being one of those people who were still going.

This photo is from a past year’s Run to Feed the Hungry.

Photo Cred.

So, at the very least I am going to run the 5k and maybe, just maybe, in the morning if I am feeling good enough I will run the 10k. I guess there’s always next year, right?

2 thoughts on “Run to Feed the Hungry

  1. yyayyyy! maybe i’ll run into u amongst all the madness!! good luck with ur run!!!!!!!!!!! i’ll be huffing and puffing doing the 5 k! hahahah happy thanksgiving sweet lady!

  2. Good to see your passion for feeding the hungry and thanks for sharing that picture of the run. Amazing to see so many people making a difference! Love your pictures and details they bring out. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

