Snowflakes and Sprinkles

My favorite holiday tradition is baking and decorating sugar cookies. My mom and I have done this since I was a little girl and now the holidays just don’t feel the same without them. So, on Saturday my mom came over to make cookies and my husband even helped. He’s getting better at decorating than I am!

The snowflakes were my favorite this year, they look so pretty and festive.

These cookies aren’t only pretty, they’re yummy too! My recipe is very simple and I just make a confectioner’s sugar frosting and use a little food coloring to get the light greens, pinks, blues, and purples I want.

Sugar Cookie Recipe:

  • 3 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 5 cups all-purpose bleached flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder

Mix together butter and sugar until creamy. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Slowly mix in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for 2 hours.

Bake cut-out cookies for 6 to 8 minutes at 400 degrees  on a lightly greased cookie sheet (I use Pam).

Frosting- Mix together powdered sugar and milk (soy milk works as well) until you get the consistency you like. I like it thin so I can paint on the frosting and it dries quickly, but you can add more powdered sugar to make it thicker. Add 1-2 teaspoons of vanilla depending on quantity and food coloring to your liking.

7 thoughts on “Snowflakes and Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

