Chocolate Bran Muffins

Years ago when I was on weight watchers, I used to make these muffins all the time. They are extremely fast and easy and they have very few ingredients. They end up being low in calories and high in fiber and taste just like a chocolate brownie. J They are best heated up with a little whip cream on top and this time I added a little shredded coconut to the top to make them prettier.

  •  One box low-fat brownie mix (I used Betty Crocker)
  • 3 cups bran cereal (I used an organic bran cereal)
  • 2 ½ cups warm water
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • Coconut (optional)

First you soak the bran in the water for a few minutes. Then add the brownie mix and baking soda and mix. The batter will be very thick.

Bake in cupcake tins for about 20-25 minutes at 350. See how easy!

Disclaimer- I wouldn’t recommend eating these muffins all the time as a part of a healthy diet. They are tasty, and full of fiber but the brownie mix is of course full of sugar and other unhealthy ingredients. Another option would be to use the No Pudge brownie mix from Trader Joes. No pudge is made with what I like to call “real ingredients” (I used Betty Crocker because I don’t live near a Trader Joes, but I would definitely prefer the healthier route). But, as a once-in-a-while treat, these are great! I froze half of the batch to thaw out another time. That way I don’t have to eat them every day in a row for a month before they go bad.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Bran Muffins

Leave a Reply

