Broiled Grapefruit with Brown Sugar

I recently was given some delicious grapefruit straight from my co-worker’s backyard and I have been enjoying them for breakfast for the last week. Another friend at work suggested this delicious idea of broiling the grapefruit with a little brown sugar. After I made these I googled the recipe to see how other people made them and I found so many different ways! Some use ginger and brown sugar, some use butter and brown sugar…I think next time I’ll add butter. Everything tastes better with butter, right? But this time I just did it plain and simple. Fruit, brown sugar, and fire. Mmmmm. They turned out delish. A great low-calorie winter dessert that I will definitely be making again soon.

Ingredients:


Brown sugar (about 1-2 tbsp per grapefruit half)

2 grapefruits (one for me, one for my hubby)

That’s it!

What to do:

Cut the grapefruits in half and cut out the seeds. Sprinkle brown sugar on the top of each half and broil for 7-10 minutes until top is golden brown and bubbly. I like to cut through the wedges to make them easier to eat, but you can eat them however you usually prefer to eat grapefruits.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Broiled Grapefruit with Brown Sugar

  1. If you are only making a single grapefruit, try using a small frying pan with butter and brown sugar. Place the grapefruit cut side down and you’ll attain the same result without heating up the oven.

Leave a Reply

