Ouch

So my foot is hurt again. :( I did my 11 mile run  (it ended up being about 11.8 ) on Sunday and I felt great. The run was easy and comfortable and I couldn’t help but think “I’ve got this half marathon in the bag.” That was until around mile 8 when my foot started to ache. At that point I was so far out on the trail, there wasn’t much I could do. So I stuck with it and made it to the end of the run. That is when the real pain started to kick in and I could barely get through my stretches or walk the remainder of the day. Each time I step down on my left side an excruciating pain shoots up the middle of my foot. It’s not fun.

Now here I am back at work with a bandage on my foot, limping around the office. This Saturday is supposed to be an 8 mile run and then a few short runs leading up to the race on the 11th. To be honest, I’m feeling a little discouraged today. Maybe I’m not meant to be a runner. I always felt that way my entire life, maybe I was right?  I WANT to be a runner, but my body seems to feel otherwise. My plan is to rest and ice my foot for the remainder of the week and hope it gets better. If it feels 100% on Friday, I’ll run the 8 miles on Saturday. Otherwise, I’ll rest until it does feel better and try to make it through my race on the 11th.

Despite the frustrating feelings I’m having about my injury, I am trying to stay as positive as possible and not give up. I was really hoping to beat my time from October, but I need to remind myself that just finishing the race is a pretty big accomplishment for me.

Whether you think you can or think you can’t, you’re right.”
~ Henry Ford

my best friend right now..

17 thoughts on “Ouch

  1. On the one hand, I don’t want to encourage you to run if you are in pain – especially if that pain can lead to long-standing injuries. On the other hand, you have persevered up until this point and you are so close to your goal race that I want to say “you can do it”!!

    I’m a novice runner (just started last fall) and although I think I’m slow and not a “natural,” I love the feeling of accomplishment from finishing a run, the “runners high,” and knowing that I pushed my body to do things I never thought I could do!

    Whatever decision you make, feel confident that you made it knowing what’s best for you and you body.

      • Thank you! I am a novice runner too- just started last May and have had a few roadblocks in the way, but this one is definitely the worst. I used to struggle (a lot) with only one mile, so getting this far has really felt like a major accomplishment to me. But I think you’re right, I want to rest and then power through on race day, but only if I’m totally ready. I would hate to do permanent damage. Hopefully 2 weeks will be enough time to heal completely before the big day! Thanks for your thoughtful comments!

  2. This makes me sad to read! I can just imagine the feeling of discouragement and disappointment. But as the quote suggests, positive thinking is everything. Best wishes to you and your foot my dear! I sincerely hope you get to complete your race!

    • Yeah, I’ve been pretty sad about it myself. I even went to the doctor today and he told me I need to be using crutches and shouldn’t run in the race. But, it’s my foot and only I know what’s best, so I am sticking to my plan of lots of rest and will see how I feel closer to the race. Thanks for your best wishes!

Leave a comment