Portraits in the Park

I’ve been trying to improve my photography lately so my best friend let me take a few portraits of her in a nearby park. We went right before sunset. The weather was perfect and the light was beautiful. I took about 400 photos of her, but these were my favorites. :) It definitely didn’t hurt that my subject is so beautiful!

I know I have a lot of work to do to get where I would like to be with my photography, but I don’t always know where or how I can improve since I’m such an amateur. So, any suggestions on how I could have improved these shots would be greatly appreciated!

14 thoughts on “Portraits in the Park

  1. Pingback: Am is Kreativ « conchsaladesque

  2. I think these shots are good… but if you really want criticism then I would’ve added a subtle flash in there to lift some of the shadows on her face… I find it a bit dark compared to the background. Now the trick is to get the flash off your camera, thats when the magic starts to happen. But if your flash is attached to your camera try to set the FEC to -1/3EV or -2/3EV to give it a bit of flash.
    The greatest tip of flash photography I got is: “The key is to use flash and make it look like you didn’t” –> that’s when you get out of the world portraits.
    I hope you didn’t mind the lengthy response.

    • No I don’t mind at all! I will take all the help I can get. When I say I’m an amateur I mean amateur amateur. I just started playing with photography last summer and am slowly learning so any advice is good advice to me! Thank you!

  3. I would love to see them! I’m getting CS5 next month and am really looking forward to it. I’d love to see what you did and find out how you did it. Thanks for the kind words! I’ll email you now.

  4. Wonderful start, beautiful model. I agree w 2 RIvers..you need a flash to help brighten up your model. Get it off the camera as well, even if it is with a short cable that you hold up with your left hand. Here is a nice video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUbus-TArmE

    Also, one rule of thumb when posing a model is “if she has knees then she has to have feet.”Look at your 2nd to last image..I would have framed her feet in the pic to balance the image a little better.

    • Thanks for the help. I agree, I should have never cut her off at the ankles! I’ll keep that in mind next time. Would it be better to shoot in RAW and brighten in photo shop? Or lighten with flash?

      • You need to do both. It is best to create the best image that you can IN the camera. But you also need to shoot in RAW so that you have the appropriate dynamic range to make appropriate post-shoot changes.

  5. gorgeous pictures I think you’re going to be great. : ) I read through your comments and i love that you’ve taken all the positive criticism you were given with such class. I know people ask for criticism sometimes but then get defensive and you seem just eager to learn. : ) I wish you the best of luck with your photography. : )))

Leave a Reply

