Seared Ahi with Lemon Dill Aioil

Last night my husband and I made this delicious dinner. We bought a sashimi grade tuna steak from our local grocery store and served it with garlic & balsamic brussel sprouts and the first artichoke from our backyard this year!

The tuna is easy and super fast (I accidentally overcooked it a little, but it was still tasty). I added salt and pepper to each side and seared it in a hot pan with a little olive oil. It really only needs less than a minute on each side, and I went a little long as you can see in my photo.

Then I sautéed onions and garlic in another pan with olive oil, added the brussel sprouts and 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar until they were tender and a little crispy on the edges. I boiled the artichoke and used my lemon dill aioli for dipping sauce for both the artichoke and the tuna.

Lemon Dill Aioli

  • 1/4 cup non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon veganaise
  • juice of half a lemon
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • 2 tsp. fresh dill, chopped

Mix all the ingredients together and add ingredients until you have the taste/texture you like. You can definitely make this without the veganaise, but I like to add a little to cut down the tartness of the yogurt.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Seared Ahi with Lemon Dill Aioil

  1. Seared Ahi is one of my favorite things ever (which is why I always capitalize it). This all looks and sounds great!

  2. Wow, that looks AMAZING!! We have Ahi thawing for tonight as well! I know, not as fresh, but Trader Joes said in our tour that their frozen fish is actually fresher than their fresh fish! Because it gets cleaned and frozen right away on the boat, whereas the fresh fish may not get to the store for a couple days. Fun fact I learned!

Leave a Reply

