Lighting Class Portraits

I recently volunteered to be the “model” for a photography lighting class through Photography My Way. They are a photography company that teaches you everything you want to know about your DSLR camera. I have loved every single class I have taken with them and highly recommend it if you’re new to photography.

I was a student in their lighting class months ago and afterwards still struggled with finding the perfect light for my photos. So I thought if I sat through another class and was able to re-learn lighting from the perspective of the subject, it might help me improve my shots. Well, it did! Being moved around and told where to stand and how to turn my head toward the light really helped me understand the concept better and I’m so glad I did it. Although, I have to say it was pretty uncomfortable having a group of people take TONS of photos of you in a crowded, public place. Not to mention the instructor had everyone take photos of me in horrible light and then in good light so they could see the difference. I am not interested in seeing the photos they took in the horrible light. No thank you.

Here are two of the shots they took in “good light.”

5 thoughts on “Lighting Class Portraits

Leave a Reply

