Hummingbirds

I am always so envious of my mom’s hummingbird feeder. It attracts such amazing little creatures and I love watching them flutter around and drink their sugar-water. I would love to have one in our backyard but our cats will go after (and kill) just about any bird they see in a one-mile radius of our house. Humming birds are extremely fast, but I just wouldn’t feel right intentionally luring them into the “kill zone” just so I can look at them. I am always wishing I had my camera when I go to my parent’s house so I made sure I brought it over for Mother’s Day. I sat and watched the birds for a few minutes and took a ton of photos. These were some of my favorite shots. I swear, for a minute this one particular hummingbird was posing and dancing around for me.

See, he (or she) is totally looking at me here.

7 thoughts on “Hummingbirds

  1. These are fabulous shots! I’ve told the story here in Minnesota of the hummingbirds in our California backyard that used to come right up to my face and whirr around my head so I could hear their wings they were so close. (We have hummingbirds here but in our yard anyway they’ve never come close.) Your first two photos capture that CA experience completely! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

