Results Are In!

So I told you all here about the six-week boot camp I started in May. Well, tomorrow is our last workout and end of boot camp party and today was our last workout at the gym. This session they decided not to focus so much on numbers on a scale and tried to focus more on how we feel. I love the idea of not stressing over weight loss, but since it was my first Kaia session I really wanted to see if I had any results after the first six weeks. I did measurements, weight, and body fat percentage during the first week and then again today. We ended up doing measurements on Friday of the first week and by then, I had already lost almost 3 pounds from when I started on Monday.

I have a scale at home that weighs the same as the scale at Kaia and I have been stepping on it about once a week to see how I’m doing. I have always done that just to check in on myself and remind myself to get back on track if the weight started going up. I really try not to worry about the number or let it bother me because we all fluctuate on a regular basis, but I like to keep an eye on it.

The first week and a half of boot camp I dropped about 4 1/2 pounds . I was so excited and thought, “At this rate, I’ll have no trouble losing 10lbs by the end of 6 weeks!” I was wrong. Since then I’ve fluctuated a little, especially after my Chicago trip but my weight has stayed just about the same since the end of that first week. Each time I got on my scale at home, I reminded myself that no matter what the number is, I feel great and I know I am gaining muscle and getting healthy.

So today when I took my measurements I had lost 1 inch around my butt, 1 1/4 inches off of my chest, and 2 inches off my waist. Most importantly I went down 3.4% body fat. To be honest, I was a little disappointed at first. I think I was hoping for more drastic results. It is still hard for me to not think of myself as the same person who was 25 pounds heavier a few years ago, completely out of shape and unable to run a mile. But today was kind of a reminder of how far I’ve come on my own and now how Kaia has pushed me to be even healthier and stronger.

In May of 2011 I ran my first 5k, the farthest I had ever run in my entire life (by a lot) and since then I have run countless 5ks and 10ks, trained for two half marathons, and now completed six weeks of the hardest boot camp I’ve ever done.

So when I sat down and really thought about the person I was a few years ago and the person I am now, I felt pretty proud of myself. And I realized that although other people may have had much better results than I did, I am happy and think I did pretty damn good for six weeks. I plan to continue on the path I’m on and no matter what happens, remember that I feel fantastic. I have more energy, I’m stronger, my mood is always better and I am often surprised by what I’m able to push myself to do. I am so thankful for Kaia, and of course for my best friend who really inspired me to join. I think I’m going to be a Kaia girl for life now :) If my story interests you, you should check out Kaia F.I.T. here!

13 thoughts on “Results Are In!

  1. awwe, i just teared up a little. I’m SO happy to have you at Kaia with me- we can do amazing things, and it’s way more fun to do them together!! i love you, and your booty. even if it gets smaller.

  2. Yaaayy! Congratulations! Im so glad you loved it and got to see some results. My weight didnt change after the initial 5 lbs from detox, but my before and after pics are sooo different! So yes, numbers are definitely not as important as how you feel! Im so excited for you and happy that you are joining the Kaia Girl For Life club =D

  3. Remember that after you begin body building, you only add a couple of pounds of muscle a month. And that is with an ideal workout and eating program.

    Which is why you didn’t lose more weight. You are transforming fat calories into muscle mass.

    And a 2.5% fat loss is HUGE for six weeks. Maybe even intense.

    Way to go!

    Wayne

  4. Reblogged this on luvsiesous and commented:
    Friends,

    Here is an excellent example of a life turned around.

    We often focus upon emotional or spiritual transformations as life turn-arounds. But, a physical transformation is just as liberating.

    At Adele’s current turn-around she is on trajectory to change her body fat ratio by 10% to 25% easily over the next year.

    I place the 10% there for the realistic reason that as much change as she just achieved, she is probably too lean to lose as much as I COULD. But, can’t.

    Body fat is your primary objective. Yes is will feel good to run a mile for the first time, or 5 miles for the second time. It will feel good to move a forty-five pound weight the first time, etc.

    But, body-fat tells you what your body is really doing. And if you are like most of us in America today, your body fat is too high, mine as well.

    If you have the time, stop by and congratulate Adele for inspiring us all to do more.

    Wayne

Leave a Reply

