Crispy Sweet Potato Chips with Cinnamon

I saw a recipe for sweet potato chips on Pinterest and knew I had to try them. Isn’t Pinterest the best?? The recipe I came across called for orange zest and thyme, both of which I did not have in the house. So, I decided to make some sweet sweet potato chips by using a little cinnamon. I googled “sweet potato chips with cinnamon” and found tons of recipes, all calling for brown or white sugar and butter or honey. I really wanted a healthier, lighter version, so I just left those ingredients out. These were SO easy and so delicious, I could have eaten 100 of them.What you’ll need:

  • 1 large sweet potato (I used a very skinny, long potato and ended up with little chips)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • as much cinnamon as you like!

What you’ll do:

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit. Coat a cookie sheet with a thin layer of the olive oil. Slice the sweet potato into very thin slices (a mandolin would work best, but I didn’t have one of those either). Place the potato slices on a baking sheet in a single layer. Brush the slices with olive oil and then sprinkle with as much cinnamon as you prefer and bake for about 20-30 minutes until the edges curl up on.

The result – crispy on the outside, warm and soft on the inside, deliciously sweet chips. The key  was slicing the potato incredibly thin. Since I didn’t have a mandolin some of my chips were thicker and didn’t cook as well. The thinner the chip, the better it tasted.

I might have to make these again tonight..ya know, to really perfect the recipe :)

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Crispy Sweet Potato Chips with Cinnamon

  1. Very yummy looking… we will have to try. I’ve done sweet potato chips with sea salt and cracked pepper… really like those.

    For ‘sweet’ without the sugar, what about mixing a little raw honey with the olive oil and brushing that on, and then sprinkle the cinnamon? I’m thinking of trying either that or mix a little stevia with the cinnamon.

    :) Veronica Marie

Leave a Reply

