What I Believe To Be True About Kale

There is so much information out there about the benefits of eating kale, but some people still aren’t interested in consuming this leafy green. So, I thought I’d try to convert a few folks by sharing what I think kale does for me and why I eat it so often. But for those of you who want “real facts” I added some of those too. Most of my info was found on WebMD.

***Disclaimer-  I am not a doctor, I just really like Kale.

10 Reasons I Think Kale is So Awesome

  1. It gives you an immune system of steel so you won’t become sick or diseased (kale is LOADED with antioxidants, both Vitamin A and Vitamin C)
  2. In a fight, kale would kick cancer’s ass (it is a great source of Vitamin K which is believed to help fight cancer)
  3. Sunglasses? Who needs those? (kale is loaded with carotenoids which help prevent UV rays from damaging your eyes).
  4. You won’t get a broken heart eating kale (kale can help lower your cholesterol, reducing the risk of heart disease).
  5. It makes you skinny (kale has a very low-calorie content so you can eat it as part of a healthy, nutrient-rich diet, along with exercise, for weight loss).
  6. It “cleans you out” if you know what I mean (one cup has 20% of your recommended daily fiber which promotes regular digestion, prevents constipation, lowers blood sugar and curbs overeating).
  7. If you mix heavy kale-eating with heavy body-building, you will get Popeye-sized biceps (like spinach, kale is high in iron).
  8. If you injure yourself during your regularly scheduled body building session, you won’t need to take Advil (kale is believed to have anti-inflammatory properties).
  9. Don’t Got Milk? Don’t need it! (for us lactose-free folks kale is a great way to get your calcium in without dairy).
  10. IT ACTUALLY TASTES GOOD!

So…basically, if you eat kale, you’ll be on your way to becoming Superwoman like me (or Superman, I don’t want to be sexist- men are allowed to eat kale too.)

There are tons of different types of kale and they are all delicious in their own ways! I use the softer kale when I am making a smoothie or salad because I will be eating it raw, but the tough kale is also great when steamed or sautéed.

Here are a few ideas for how to eat this lovely green leafy veggie.

My All-Time Favorite, Green Smoothie

  • 1 cup almond milk (I switch off from Rice, Almond, and Coconut Milk)
  • 1 ripe banana, preferably peeled + frozen
  • 2 handfuls kale
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds OR 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 1 tbsp nut butter, optional

Best Kale Salad Ever

  • Kale
  • Olive Oil – massage the olive oil and salt into kale to soften and let sit while you add other ingredients.
  • Lemon
  • Sea Salt
  • Pepper
  • Avocado
  • Any veggies you like!

I have also posted about kale recipes here, and here.

For more delicious kale recipes, click here!

5 thoughts on “What I Believe To Be True About Kale

  1. I gotta tell you, I really don’t like the stuff. If I was a rabbit, maybe. But I’m not. I confess I tried a spinach protein shake and it was not bad. I did not taste the spinach, as you said, but it was sure ugly!

Leave a Reply

