A Little Holiday Season Motivation

I read this article on RunnersWorld.com and it got me really excited for running and being outdoors this winter. So I decided to make a list of all the things I’m personally going to try in order to keep in shape and feel good throughout the holidays.

1. Start with treating myself to some awesome new winter workout gear. They say there’s no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothes, so get yourself something comfy and warm to bundle up in for those cold outside runs! I’ve actually already started this one. For my birthday I got a few new pieces from lululemon (my new obsession) and even bought myself a little somethin. Although expensive, lulu is seriously AMAZING. From their “anti-bacterial” or “anti-stink” material to the hidden “emergency hair-ties” on their zippers to the extra material near the wrists for wrapping up your hands in the winter, they literally have thought of everything. Their workout gear makes you look and feel amazing and I am officially hooked. Who wouldn’t want to be active when you feel THAT great in workout clothes?

This is my new favorite piece!

2. Make time for myself to be active. The holidays can be so busy and stressful that we consume our lives with doing things for other people. This winter I want to make sure I take a little time every day to do something for myself, whether that is going for a run or even just going outside at lunch time for a quick walk around the building.

3. Sign up for a few fun 5ks or other runs/races. The first one I’m planning is the Run to Feed the Hungry on Thanksgiving day in Sacramento. This race is HUGE and is such a fun way to spend the morning AND help donate to those who need it. I also plan on doing as many Tuesday night Fun Runs at my local Fleet Feet as I can. Everyone meets to go for a 3-4 mile run and most weeks there are different themes and even raffle prizes!

Last week’s fun run

4. Try something new. I have never done hot yoga and have never really been all that  interested, but I saw a groupon for a stuido nearby and thought, what better time than the middle of winter to do hot yoga? So I think I’ll give it a shot!

5. Instead of meeting friends for lunch or drinks over the holidays, meet them for a long walk outside and then go get a hot coffee. No matter if you’ve worked out already in the morning or not, a walk is always doable and will get you moving and will burn a few extra “holiday calories.”

6. Try the Runners World Run Streak! This just means you log at least one mile of running every day between Thanksgiving and New Years. I know I can do this. That can be less than 10 minutes a day! Like I said in number 2, I need to “make time for myself.” This would be a perfect way to do that and would help keep me motivated and on track through the holidays. I think I’ll try it! #RWRunStreak

7. Make it to as many Kaia classes as I possibly can unless I have a VERY good reason for missing (i.e. I’m dying, sick, injured). I go to these bootcamp classes in the mornings before work and they truly make my life better. I’ve blogged about this here and here and joining was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I can easily see myself wanting to sleep in a little longer and stay in my warm bed in the winter instead of waking up at 5am, but I am going to do my best to fight that urge. I always feel better after a kick-ass Kaia workout and I don’t want to get out of my routine.

How are you going to stay motivated this winter?

2 thoughts on “A Little Holiday Season Motivation

  1. I love your new Lululemon purchase! That’s definitely a good way to keep motivated this winter.I might have to do the same…hoping for some good Christmas deals on winter workout gear.

  2. I have been a huge fan of Lululemon for years and own a ton of their clothing. Their items are totally worth the investment and last forever! My best advice – wash all your Lulu stuff in its own load in the washer – that way you avoid pilling that can be caused by your other clothes, towels, etc. And always hang to dry! My workouts of choice are running and hot yoga, and they compliment each other so well! Not to mention that hot yoga is a kick-ass workout, and I swear I burn as many calories in a class as I do going for a decent run! I think it’s great that you’re making a plan for keeping in shape for the winter – its so easy to become lazy and unmotivated in the cold and darkness. Good luck girl!

Leave a Reply

